Our Metaphorical Second Date

Now that we have gotten the general details of my life out of the way, you can focus on getting to know me.  This can be a difficult thing as I am still learning who that is.  I suppose we will learn together. 

I said before that I am a writer.  Words are everything to me and probably the only thing (other than my kids) that can get me truly excited!  Yes, I’m a bit nerdy.  Who gets excited when they learn a new word?  This girl!  I love reading, and writing is how I spend the majority of my free time.  I wish I could have wall to wall shelves in my house completely full of books.  This would also eliminate the need to paint where my children have ripped the paint off the walls! 😉

Since just about every aspect of my life is changing, I decided I should change physically, too.  It’s not news that many mothers forget to take care of themselves, and I am definitely one of those.  I will never call myself fat. Instead, I am a chunky monkey.  I am not the largest I have ever been, but I’m still not happy with how I look.  So, when you’re not happy with something, you change it.  Part of my journey will be finding happiness in who I am, inside and out.  I have started running, which I thought would be a terrible thing.  Actually, I have come to love the feeling of all stress disappearing as my feet pound the pavement.  Along with running, I have picked up yoga.  Yoga, I must say, is not for everyone, but I cannot get enough of it.  It is a healthy activity I can do with my kids every day, and watching them have fun with yoga makes me happy! 

How did I get to be a chunky monkey?  It’s simple, actually.  I eat too much crap, and I don’t spend enough time being active.  I guess I should have a deeper reason, but that’s pretty much it.  I grew up in a house, like many, where food was the center of everything.  Every celebration, every get-together, every time you’re sad…food was everywhere!  Plus, the majority of my family is overweight.  So, it’s easy to fit in as a chunky monkey, and none of my family ever judged me for being chubby. 

Let me be clear.  The reason for me wanting to be healthier will never EVER have anything to do with how others see me.  My reasons are 1) my kids need their mom around as long as possible, 2) I want to feel better, 3) I want to set a good example and 4) I am learning balance in all things.  People can be cruel, and I have been judged many times.  But I have rarely made decisions because I thought someone would like me more.  Love me or hate me, either way, you’ll get me! 

Just like most people, I am all for fun and laughing!  I can’t imagine going through an entire day with out a fit of laughter, and my kids and friends are great for that!  I am blessed to have some of the funniest people in my life.  Now, it’s just about keeping exercise fun, so I don’t get bored with it.  I’ll try just about anything, even Zumba.  Zumba is pretty awesome because it marries two amazing things, exercise and dancing!  The only issue I had with Zumba, is that I am such a terrible dancer, that the whole class mostly burned calories from laughing at my crazy moves.  Don’t get me wrong, I think I am a fantastic dancer.  I think I have rhythm and moves that are way ahead of my time, but others seem to disagree.  At least, I can make them smile, right? 

Tonight’s workout consists of yoga at home.  My absolute favorite yoga workout is Yoga with Adrienne on youtube!  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qSG7PsdZG04

If you have a free hour tonight, try doing it with me!  Good luck on your journey, and I hope you stick around and enjoy mine!

Leave a Reply

