It’s All Relative

I used to despise running, well, anything active actually.  Then I got involved in track in high school.  I felt so great about myself!  I loved the soreness my legs felt during and after running; I loved the feeling of sweat forming droplets on my skin.  I was in my element.  Then life hit me, and I let all of that go.  I was overeating and stressed.  I was avoiding any exercise at all costs.  I always had the best excuses.  Young mother, working, college, who has time to workout?  For years I have witnessed myself gaining weight and becoming so out of shape that even a short flight of stairs would make me breathless.

I have my power back!  I decided that being unhealthy was far more painful than waking up an hour early and working out.  I decided that indulging on an entire pint of ice cream was more painful than going for a jog.  I can look at myself in the mirror again, not because I am anywhere near my goal, but because I am not giving up.  I can be proud of that!

Today, I finished my first week of the “Couch to 5K” training, and I am over the moon at how I rocked it.  I even threw in some extra days!  I have also added some squats, some crunches and leg lifts to my workout.  On top of that, I am doing thirty minutes to an hour of yoga every morning before my day officially starts.

My eating has changed in the fact that I am not over-indulging.  Yes, I still indulge in the occasional treat, but more than that, I am watching my portions.  I think a lot of being healthy is self-control.  I try not to complicate it too much.  I watch my calories and drink at least 100 ounces of water a day.  That is easy for me because I love water more than any other drinks!  I will never drop my caloric intake to an unhealthy number because, frankly, I love food.  But then again, I think we all should! 🙂

I may be new at this, but in my opinion people complicate it too much, and that is not something I’m interested in.  So, I am taking it one day at a time and loving every moment!

One thought on “It’s All Relative

Leave a Reply

